Send documents from any device and from anywhere with the same legal validity.


Send documents urgently and securely


Send a digital, ordinary or certified letter


Send digital postcards online


Print out your labels and pay for your deliveries before going to the Post Office

PAQ 48

Delivery in 24/48 hours, depending on point of origin and destination

Certified Letter

Guarantee reception with a signature

Administrative Notifications

Suitable service for legal communications





  • Issue date: 19/03/2008
  • Printing Process: Huecograbado
  • Paper: Estucado, engomado, fosforescente
  • Size of stamp: 40,9 x 28,8 mm. (horizontal)
  • Sheet effects: 50
  • Postal value of the stamps: 0,60 €
  • Print run: 2.500.000

The European Union (EU) is once more depicted in a stamp on occasion of the 50th Anniversary of the European Parliament.


In 1958, a year after the Treaty of Rome which gave birth to the EU, the European Parliament was created under the chairmanship of Robert Schuman. In these 50 years, this institution has seen an increase in its power and has become the only supranational institution whose members are democratically elected by direct universal suffrage. The 785 Members of the European Parliament are elected once every five years by voters right across the 27 Member States of the European Union on behalf of its 492 million citizens. The members of the European Parliament are organised into different political party groups such as the socialists, Christian democrats, liberals, the greens, eurosceptics, nationalists and communists. The European Parliament is involved in drafting numerous laws (directives, regulations etc.) that affect the daily life of every citizen and it is firmly established as a co-legislator with the European Council, has budgetary powers and exercises democratic controls over all the European institutions. It also gives approval over international agreements for the adhesion of new meber countries and the establishment of commercial relationships between the UE and other countries. The European Parliament has two meeting places, in Strasbourg, France, where the plenary sessions are held and Brussels, Belgium, the smaller of the two, which serves for preparatory meetings and complementary, non-plenary sessions. It works in the twenty three official languages and its twenty parliamentary committees draw up, amend and adopt legislative proposals and own-initiative reports on issues that affect the common interests of the EU citizens such as protection of the environment, consumer’s rights, the free movement of workers, capitals, goods and services, always granting respect for cultural diversity, democracy, freedom and social justice. The EU’s motto “United in diversity”, summarises the EU’s philosophy. The stamp depicts the logo of the European Parliament with the emblematic blue EU flag and the twelve golden stars.

Share it on your networks